The Town Hall is a building from the period after the second world war like almost everything else in Hammerfest, because the town was destroyed in 1944 hard. Already in 1789 she received city rights, not least because of its port, which was one of the best in Northern Europe. Which of course brought benefits as disadvantages: already once, namely in 1809, Hammerfest by British warships was bombed and severely damaged. Among the interesting architecture outside as inside Evangelical Church with its sonorous organ and a State of the art school emerged from the ruins of the last world war, but also a fish factory – the largest operator of 10,000 souls city – which unuberriechbar maketh their production for the visitors noses. Also the Hufeisenhaus with its 124 apartments is one of the beautiful examples of modern architecture far above the Arctic Circle, and the Church of St.
Michael, unimpressive in the first floor of a house located, serves the northernmost Catholic community in the world, which is one of 100 believers. Who are lucky, in the small park at the foot of the 80-meter Salen Hill Rag family, which has come to purchases in the city, at the midday or evening picnic observable, and who especially is full of energy, can climb the Hill and enjoy the midnight sun, which seems in Hammerfest from May 17 to July 28. A comfortable walk at ground level to the Meridian column on the quay opposite side of the harbour. She reminds of the first international measure the exact size and shape of the Earth, performed in the years 1819-1852 by Norway, Sweden and Russia. From a nice view over the harbour with its small fishing boats and its larger Sea – provides trawlers over the cruise ship over at the pier. It has been fixed, also the mail ships of the Hurtigruten, so the quick route, create, which give a very special kind cruise experience.